it occurs to me

stuck here mid-sentence
stranded between invisible lines
on some haunted highway
lost in the middle of nothing
halfway between nowhere
and nowhere else

it occurs to me

i need a lighted keyboard
to tap-tap-tap
my way back home
illuminated highways
and byways
make for safer traveling
i’ve heard

it occurs to me

i don’t like the light
nor the lamp
nor the safe way
to anywhere
nor anything
just the glowing page
in an ink-black abyss
a creative cave
where i dwell alone
dark and silent

it occurs to me

this ghost town
where even my spirit
cannot be summoned
must hold something
must harbor secrets
whispered so softly
that i should stay
and listen
wander and wait
until the inky darkness
stains the page
forming that first
sentence
that first
sigh
that first
sign

it occurs to me

it’s okay
that nothing
occurs to me

